Do you need help? Contact Us:
Ph: +9221-35147784-92


Washington, DC – November 2021


The International Antimicrobial Council (IAC) announces that its members have elected a new Board of Directors. The new IAC Board of Directors is comprised of John Ellis, Ph.D., Mujeeb Ullah Khan, Vikram Rao, (Patrick) Zhi Qing Tao, and Andrew M. Chubb, Ph.D. These board members will each serve a two-year term for the IAC.

The International Antimicrobial Council was originally founded in 2011. The mission of the IAC is to further the responsible adoption of antimicrobials in order to control undesirable microbiological growth and provide extended use of treated articles. The International Antimicrobial Council is a not-for-profit 501(c) 3 corporation. The IAC derives its revenues from its membership fees and fees charged for its educational programs, certification of laboratories, test verification programs, and contracted services. All revenues are used to pay for the operational expenses of the council; to provide education to brand owners, consumers, and its members; to emphasize the benefits of utilizing responsible antimicrobial and odor control technologies; and to responsibly expedite the adoption of such antimicrobials into products that will benefit from an antimicrobial property. The IAC promotes and provides industry guidance and uniform test procedures that are utilized within existing test methods and standards. The universal adoption of these procedures among laboratories increases the likelihood that laboratory testing on similar samples will produce similar results.

“For more than 10 years, the IAC has been working closely with AATCC, ASTM, and IBRG to improve the microbiological and odor testing methods used to determine the performance of treated articles,” said David Proctor, Ph.D., who is Technology Director for the IAC. “We are excited that the membership has selected such a dynamic and diverse board. We look forward to working with them in the coming years.”

We are pleased to introduce the new IAC Board of Directors:

John Ellis, Ph.D. obtained a bachelor’s degree in chemistry and a Ph.D. in polymer chemistry from UK universities. Following some years working on materials for a UK government research laboratory, in 1990 he joined a UK company specializing in the development of innovative chemical products and processes for the global textile industry. Through various changes in the company (including periods as an owner and CEO), he is now the Chief Technology Officer of Devan Chemicals, a Belgium-headquartered company (now part of Pulcra Chemicals). Devan has been a leading player in the development and commercialization of biocidal finishes for textile applications since the late 1990s.


Mujeeb Ullah Khan is the CEO of iTextiles, and, with a passion to create value in textiles globally through performance and sustainability, he has been leading iTextiles since 2006. He has over 20 years of management and leadership experience and has worked in leading multinationals like DuPont and Invista. Mujeeb also serves as a board member of the National Textiles University and NED Textiles department in Pakistan.



Vikram Rao has an extensive background in having acquired, led, built, and transformed large businesses/brands across diverse footprints. Mr. Rao is presently an accredited coach with more than 1,000 hours of executive coaching experience. His corporate career included stints with the UK-based multinational “Coats Viyella, India” and “Arvind Mills,” followed by “Aditya Birla Group” as Business Director (Fashion brands, Retail, etc.). Vikram currently resides in Bangalore, India, and leads N9 World Technologies Pvt Ltd, an innovative Indian chemical company that focuses on providing specialty chemicals to the textile industry.



(Patrick) Zhi Qing Tao has been serving as General Manager of Shanghai Runhe Nano Material Science & Technology Co. in Shanghai, China, since 2006. Patrick received his Master’s degree from East China University of Science and Technology and a Bachelor’s degree from the Anhui University of Technology. He has authored seven antimicrobial patents and has developed three standard test methods for measuring the effectiveness of antimicrobials in plastics and inorganic materials.




Andrew M. Chubb, Ph.D. is Dean of the College of Science, Engineering & Technology at Saginaw Valley State University. Andrew obtained his Ph.D. in organic chemistry from Iowa State University. He has been associated with SVSU for twenty years. As Associate Dean, and now Dean of the College of Science, Engineering & Technology, Dr. Chubb has been involved in establishing and maintaining the SVSU relationship with the International Antimicrobial Council for nearly a decade.

For more information, contact Dave Sommer at